Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 3rd, 2008

If the first thing that comes to mind when you think of a Muslim is the above picture and you treat all those who profess to be Muslims with fear and prejudice this post is for you. I will add some comments after this:

“Islam is a cancer to the world. Sadly, it will, eventually, come down to either them or us. I just hope it comes to a head before they can destroy the US from the inside-out.”

I found this on a discussion board that I like to frequent. Sadly, this is just one of many quotes I have begun to see in increasing frequency. In my free time, I like to peruse different blogs and discussion boards in search of insight from many different perspectives. Maybe it’s a microcosm of my raising. I was raised in a family where my blood comes from two faiths. Although I am very proud to call myself a Muslim, I have also dedicated myself to learning and understanding the ways of other religions. I think growing up, my religion was always sort of a novelty to others. Here I was, regular Joe Schmo. No accent, no exotic wardrobe, no excessive body hair… well OK, maybe that one. I was definitely not the guy you saw walking down the street and instantly in your mind labeled “Muslim” or “Arab.” Then the towers fell. Two beacons of our nation’s prosperity, rising towards the heavens themselves, felled in one swoop. Along with those towers fell the lives of countless fellow Americans, just trying to work another day to put another meal on the table. Then came the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. Regardless of your stance on the war itself, many brave men, good men, have laid down their lives fighting for OUR nation. As of late, we have seen Israel and Iran going back and forth with threats of nuclear weapons and retribution. Not a good combination.

 

One of the groups who have faced much tribulation in these times is the Muslim American. I tend to avoid using terms like Muslim American, African American, etc. as I believe they pack us all into neat little packages, and take ways from the unique qualities of individuals. As time has passed however, the hijab atop your head, or the dark skin or even just walking out of a mosque has brought forth labels nobody should ever be given without proof. Muslims in America are no longer a novelty. They come from the same place all these terrorists come from. If it looks like a terrorist, smells like a terrorist, then it’s gotta be a terrorist, right? We scare people, for reasons not of our own doing. Well I’m sorry, did I scare you? Let me tell you about me, so that maybe I won’t frighten you so much.

 

I shop at your grocery store. Hell, I go to the same convenience store because I know they’ve always got the freshest Copenhagen. I’m married to a Catholic woman. My kids will go to school with your kids. We interact with one another in our community. Personally, I might be the guy doing your taxes next year. We sit next to each other at Aggie football games, yellin our *beep* off. Maybe I don’t eat pork at the tailgate, but I’m there, and I probably know just as much or more about the goings on in Aggie football than most.

 

But I’m a Muslim. Everything I do in life is to glorify God(Allah)swf. I’ll take my kids to the mosque and they learn the same things I was taught as a youngster, which is probably a whole lot different than what you think it is. I am personally against abortion, I think kids should be able to pray in school if they want to, and I think the moral climate of our nation isn’t where it should be. I believe in God, Family, and Country. I pay my taxes, vote, go to jury duty, and celebrate OUR nation just like you do. Did you know that on May 1, 1776, a Syrian immigrant was killed fighting for his adopted nation’s independence? Did you know that Muslim and Arab Americans have fought in every major U.S. conflict since? You can believe what you want to believe about the religion I follow. This is America, it’s your right. But when you say you’re an American, it doesn’t mean any more than when I or any other American who also happens to be Muslim says it.

 

Alot of Muslim Americans are afraid of folks who say things like this. You scare them just as much as they apparently scare you. They don’t want you to give them trouble. When you say things like this, it frightens them. “We’re first generation Americans, we don’t want any trouble. We don’t want to rock the boat.” Well, more Muslims need to come out and say ignorant statements like this don’t scare me. You can’t control whom I pray to just like I can’t control what you think of my religion. But I will say this. Folks who judge others by labels such as religion, race, or creed don’t get very far in this country. Never have, never will. That’s why intolerant backwards and ignorant “Muslims” who resort to tyranny and terror will never get anywhere on these shores. Because we don’t let people treat others like that in this nation, at least not for long.

So in short, think what you will. But before you tell me that that the faith that I hold so dear is a “cancer,” get to know me first. Meet me at our grocery store, or at our kid’s baseball game. Come see me at your local mosque if you can’t find me anywhere else. Know me and what Islam has made me, and then make your judgment.

 

This was a post from my neighbor on our neighborhood discussion board. I won’t post my entire reply but I do want to express what I think. He allowed me to post this and I great appreciate you for that! I think this needs to be circulated in magazines on news stations and read during a Sunday morning service before expositing Luke 10:25-37. So here are my thoughts…..

  1. We are to love all humans regardless of their religion, race, creed, or nationality, because all humans are created in the image of God.
  2. Even if we feel that Muslims are our enemies (though you shouldn’t because our enemy is a spirit and must be engaged spiritually) Jesus COMMANDS US to love our enemies, even bringing them food, cold water, and rendering aid.
  3. Christians are to go out of their way and even risk their lives for our Muslim neighbors. If we believe democracy, freedom and liberty are the Christian way, then we must also want this for all of our neighbors Muslim or not. Shame on us for contributing to the idiotic sensationalism that has led to pockets of prejudice, stereotypes and gross misrepresentation
  4. We are to pray for the safety of our Muslim neighbors, not mention the health and success of them to flourish in America
  5. We are to disarm all prejudicial language against them. No prejudicial jokes, terrorism references, and definitely not belittling their faith. Though we as Christians believe that Islam is incompatible with our faith, we are to allow them to worship with the same freedom and have the same chance to spread their faith as we do.
  6. We are to fight that they have the same seat in the marketplace of public policy as we do. America is not a Christian Nation, it may have had Christians involved, but Jesus did say “this is my nation” any more than he says Iraq is His nation. All things were created by Him, for Him and through Him. Even the cattle on a thousands hills are His. This means that Muslims, Wiccans, Mormons and any other religion should have the right to set public policy and we should invite and even encourage them to do so.
  7. Finally we are to ensure that we are not perpetuating the foolishness that I see everyday in reference to Muslims. Much of what this brother talks about. Lets stop superimposing the American experience on the scriptures. Lets stop quoting “if this nation”. Lets love all, share the Gospel when the Spirit opens the door for us and treat everyone as we would like to be treated.

I don’t expect better from those who do not have the life giving Spirit indwelling them. But when those who name the name of our Lord are involved in what this fella is talking about then we don’t have the mind of the Lord Jesus Christ. You have lost your footing and have disqualified yourself from being God’s ambassador. Repentance is necessary and reconciliation is the key. If anyone should love Muslims recklessly it should be us Christians. If anyone should be void of stereotypes, prejudices, misrepresentations and blatant disrespect, it should be we Christians. If anyone should want to see a Muslim prosper it should be us. I once heard a lovely brother say “I am praying for the opportunity to wash Bin Ladin’s feet”, maybe we should say the same for our Muslim neighbors also.

 

 

 

 

 

Read Full Post »

Today leadership is in the forefront of the discussion on ecclesiology. Mostly the fact of “submitting” to such leadership. The verse that is typically used is found in Hebrews, particularly verse 17. Here it is:

17 Obey your leaders and submit to them, for they are keeping watch over your souls, as those who will have to give an account. Let them do this with joy and not with groaning, for that would be of no advantage to you.

I have posted a couple of posts about this. But reading it again I think there is something that I missed. The subject is “your leaders”. You see today, we have men who call themselves leaders. This leads to a genuine question. Exactly how is leadership established in the local church, and who MUST a Christian submit to and obey? I think this is where it gets muddy. So I am going to write what I think and I would love the interaction of others who have wrestled with this.

Exactly who does other believers have to submit to and on what basis should they submit. What constitutes a leader? How do I know if this person is really a leader and I should be submitting to them? What if I don’t want to submit to them? When should I not submit to them? Am I free to ignore them? Would I be in sin if I don’t submit to someone who I don’t believe I should submit to? These are serious questions and questions I don’t know if we ever really consider.

What if a person tells me I should submit to them? What do I do? What litmus test should I take them through to ensure they really are God’s leaders? Seminary? Calling? Affirmation from other leaders (this seems to be the case of Paul’s assistants and fellow co-workers)? Mere position? Many people call themselves leaders? That leadership is established many ways. Lets look back at the verses leading up to verse 17:

Heb 13:1;7

13:1 Let brotherly love continue

Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life, and imitate their faith.

Paul (??) is writing this Church about brotherly love. The first imperative is to “let brotherly love continue”. Next he goes to a personal application of what this brotherly love would look like. One is “remembering” those who spoke the word to them. If my assumption is right, to “speak” the word may have put their lives in danger. Given the fact that the reason this letter was written was to encourage wavering ethnic Jews from running back to the Old Covenant because of severe persecution. This is why Paul reminds them that Christ went outside of the camp and bore shame and they were to also go outside.

Given the fact that these leaders had served them even in the face of death wouldn’t it be expected that they would follow their service and not make ministering to them difficult. They had proven that they were worth following not by mere position and not by being in authority, but by risking their very lives to preach the Gospel to them. Many had lost homes and jobs, but instead of shrinking away they were empowered by the Spirit to preach the word even as death stared them in the face.

Any man who risks his life, loses his job, home and maybe even his family, to bring me the good news is worthy of being followed. This had to be extremely difficult. This had to be heart-breaking, discouraging, even demoralizing so then Paul says:

Let them do this with joy and not with groaning, for that would be of no advantage to you.

Why make ministering any more difficult than it was? I think one way of making it difficult was that they were begining to question them about Jesus’ ministry and the validity of the Gospel. They started to question if Jesus was really enough, which Paul explains quite clearly from Chapters 1-10. Many of these leaders had seen the gathering shrink (Heb 10:25) due to this questioning and persecution. So Paul admonishes them not to forsake the gathering (this isn’t church membership and tithing folks). They were probably hearing “if Jesus isn’t sufficient then why should we meet”.

So in closing, this is the type of example that is to be followed. These men stared death in the face and is spite of losing it all they continued to preach the wonderful sufficiency of the Lord Jesus. So this is relational, example like, servant leadership. Not men who have went to school and have been transplanted. Not men who have been accepted by a theological party, but men on their own initiative who would minister the Gospel regardless of the risk, most likely for FREE not at a salary package, not if you could only offer them enough money, not for gain! Those who had come to know Jesus were questioning them and began to make ministry hard for them. They may had begun to reconsider theri faith (this is why there are so many warnings in this book, warnings about falling away) so Paul encourages them by rebuking the Church and telling them to go outside the camp where Jesus bears the shame of sin! Not the safety of the Old Covenant that was powerless, obsolete and left void by God. To turn back meant nothing, to turn back was to be like Israel in Numbers 14, to turn back was to turn away from the very God that they say they wanted. No turning away wasn’t the option and these leaders most likely fought with them and reasoned with them and labored among them to show them the truth of Jesus Christ and the recipients of this letter had begun to ignore them.

Read Full Post »