Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 22nd, 2008

This article scares me like never before and I can never understand the pressure on pastors to perform. It is a sad case that our competitive capitalistic culture is now the litmus test for successful Christian ministy. So we line up give huge alter calls, count how many people were saved (this was only found a couple of times in all of scripture and it is to see the immediate impact of the Gospel and the Acts of the HOLY SPIRIT through the Apostles) count how many people are on our rolls and count how fast we grew the church.  It sickens me to see bio’s of pastors that say “he took a 150 member church and grew it to 20,000). As if we mere mortals can regenerate the hearts of people. I would believe that Jesus says quite the opposite in John 3 as he tears Nicodemus a new one and John himself says “born not by the will of man” in chaper 1of the same Gospel. Jesus says “I will build my church” We are to be faithful to the proclamation of the glorius and wonderful Good News! Anyway I can go on for a few days about this foolishness but I will stop while I am ahead. Here is the article and below is an excerpt I wanted to highlight

“When Jan started e-mailing and calling, it was a refreshing change. She volunteered to help at church, praised my leadership, and was always available as a sounding board on various church matters. On one level, I knew exactly what was happening. But I forced myself not to think about that. Before long I just closed off my mind to the right thing to do and allowed my passion take over. Soon I was meeting Jan at a motel outside of town. It happened about six times over the course of six months, and every time I left the motel I was racked with guilt. I’d swear on the drive home that I’d never so much as speak to this woman again. I’d be fine for a few weeks but then she’d show up at my office or she’d send me a suggestive e-mail and once again the passion would overwhelm me, and I’d end up doing what I’d vowed never to do again. Finally, my self-loathing over the affair became so great that I told Jan I was ending it. That’s when the crazy behavior and stalking began.

“People have no idea how much pressure there is in this profession. You’re not successful unless you’re working 80-plus hours a week, meeting everyone’s needs. Any pastor who’s honest will tell you that church is full of petty politics. I often had to placate congregants who wanted things done their way. They pushed to be the biggest church in town and vowed to pull their money out if I didn’t support a new building campaign. They insisted on certain music during services and wanted veto power over who could join the congregation.”

Read Full Post »