Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 26th, 2008

Here is what John says:

16 By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers. 17 But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God’s love abide in him? 18 Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.

Here is what I have seen. People travel high and low on blogs to debate about theological issues and war over which doctrine is right and wrong. Many have strong convictions about God’s truth and for that I am estatic. Those who want to uphold Orthodoxy are a critical part of keeeping the Church of Christ pure. However, there is more to the Christian Faith than Orthodoxy and that is Orthopraxy. As a matter of fact Orthodoxy-Orthopraxy=False Religon. I will go on record for that statement. Read the verse above then read what is below:

Here is the link . John says “lets us not love in word and talk, but in deed and truth”. How do we do that? By meeting the needs of other believers. I don’t know Josh from a can of paint, but what I do know is that I will spend eternity with Him in heaven. Thus he is more by brother than my physical brother. We have the same dad, though we never met. So Josh has a problem and it is his mom’s sickness and here is what he says:

The bad news: My mother, Carol, must be on an oral chemo daily for the next 7 years which we unexpectedly found out insurance will not cover. Although we fought hard to get it covered, insurance will not cover it. Currently she is paying $5,000/year out of pocket for her medications alone. And now, in addition, she needs this oral chemo which is $300/month for the next 84 months. That’s $8,600/year out of pocket with insurance just for the medicine.

I am not writing this for any type of pity party. I am just stating the facts. We need help. I have sold my vehicle to help with her previous expenses and now this. Also, my father became disabled and now earns only a fraction of what he used to.

I am asking those of you that would like to help to possibly donate $5 toward her medications. If we could get 1000 people to donate, that would take care of almost an entire year’s worth of medication. Although she must be on this medication for 7 years in total, she wants to take things one year at a time. 100% of all donations received will go directly toward her medical expenses.

I know the economy is tough, but $5 is a cup of coffee or a value meal. And it is time that we in the West stop talking about Jesus and start being the hands, feet, and body of Jesus. We can put into practice what we preach here. By sending $5. I pray that you will take this seriously as the blog is a good place to communicate truth, it also can be great tool of communicating God’s love for His family.

Read Full Post »